top of page
  • imashelleyhill

"Mommy, I'm a MERMAID!"

During mid March, I brought my kids to their grandparents house for an extended weekend when we listed our home for sale and expected to be kicked out of the house all day for a few days.

While we were there, I was giving Eden a bath and she was being extra swishy...twirling and spinning around in the bathtub.

She suddenly stopped, sat up, smoothed all her hair over one shoulder, looked at me completely serious and declared, "Mommy, I'm a MERMAID".

Well obviously I needed the perfect mermaid fabric! This sweet dream comes from Wee Little Things Fabric.

This new cotton lycra is so soft and sews up so beautifully, and this print is the most beautiful shade of soft light blush pink.

The name of this mermaid design is Capri, so it was required that I make it into a Capri from Little Lizard King!! I added a tiered skirt from Vallejo, however, because they're just such full lovely twirly skirts.

We were supposed to go to the beach, and I wanted some beach mermaid pictures, but alas....you get pictures of my new driveway instead. *wink*

I love being able to inspire joy in my kids with the things they love, and I know this mermaid dress will be worn again and again.

Happy Sewing!!

-Shelley


26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page