top of page
  • imashelleyhill

Aarhus and Oslo

Updated: Nov 10, 2020

I never thought cheap fabric from Walmart would EVER become something I would want to keep forever.

Usually I grab inexpensive Walmart fabric to test things, so I don't waste my 'nice' fabric if it doesn't fit right (yet).

THIS time, cheap Walmart precut fabric became a BEAUTIFUL heirloom piece.

Let's talk about the hand embroidery first.

This is a new pattern from Little Lizard King called Oslo. It is the first ever hand embroidery pattern offered from LLK.

I've never hand embroidered anything, but this pattern went through every type of stitch needed, every step of the way.

It comes in three main sizes, and those sizes each come in multiple sizes themselves. This is the yoke (small) size, in 18m. As you can see, it fit perfectly in between these princess seams.

Speaking of princess seams, it's time to talk about this amazing dress pattern!

This is the brand new Aarhus pattern from Little Lizard King.

I cannot stop making these. I'm serious. I've already made three other versions....one of which has been photographed, and the other in photographing stages.

This pattern has SO MANY options, so I'm mostly going to discuss the options I chose.

For the sleeves, I chose the bell sleeve with mini ruffles, as well as that adorable little tie on the cuff!

Other sleeve options include sleeveless, cuffed sleeve, and flutter sleeve.

The skirt is an amazing layered double circle skirt.

That means there are FOUR circle skirts on this child. This version required FOUR YARDS of fabric!

I LOVE that the skirt is already so full and fluffy, even though I didn't include any optional tulle or horsehair hemming.

Of course......that CORSET BACK!!!!

This is definitely my new favorite pattern, and even makes cheap Walmart fabric into treasured clothing.

Happy Sewing!

-Shelley


100 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page